[{"data":1,"prerenderedAt":-1},["ShallowReactive",2],{"guide-payload-how-long-does-the-landlord-have-to-return-a-security-deposit":3},{"id":4,"cmsSource":5,"title":6,"slug":7,"butterSlug":7,"category":8,"state":8,"legalPage":8,"author":8,"tldr":8,"costBreakdown":9,"summary":10,"featuredImage":8,"featuredImageUrl":11,"featuredImageAlt":8,"hero":12,"headerOverride":13,"tocTitle":8,"hideToc":8,"body":15,"categories":27,"tags":32,"primaryProduct":57,"meta":58,"updatedAt":61,"createdAt":62,"_status":63},29,"payload","How Long Does the Landlord Have to Return a Security Deposit?","how-long-does-the-landlord-have-to-return-a-security-deposit",null,[],"Most states require landlords to refund security deposits they collect within a certain time frame after the tenancy ends. Landlords may subtract from the security deposit any proper deductions for repairs and other damages made according to the lease and state law. Below you will find a regularly updated table of how long landlords have to return s","https:\u002F\u002Fcdn.buttercms.com\u002FSRzpTIxHSpuvItZurEPF",{"overline":8,"title":8,"subtitle":8},{"title":8,"link":8,"cta":14},"Get Started",[16,20,24],{"id":17,"content":8,"legacyHtml":18,"blockName":8,"blockType":19},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a4","\u003Cp>Most states require landlords to refund security deposits they collect within a certain time frame after the tenancy ends. Landlords may subtract from the security deposit any proper deductions for repairs and other damages made according to the lease and state law. Below you will find a regularly updated table of how long landlords have to return security deposits for all 50 states.\u003C\u002Fp>\n\u003Cp>\u003C\u002Fp>","guide-rich-text",{"id":21,"html":22,"blockName":8,"blockType":23},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a5","\u003Ctable class=\"fr-alternate-rows\" style=\"width: 100%; height: 3466.6px;\">\n\u003Cthead>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Cth colspan=\"2\" style=\"width: 124.85%; text-align: center; vertical-align: top;\">Refund Time Frame and Details\u003C\u002Fth>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003C\u002Fthead>\n\u003Ctbody>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 25%; vertical-align: top;\">Alabama\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 74.8503%; text-align: left; vertical-align: top;\">Within 60 days after the tenancy ends. If the tenant fails to provide a valid forwarding address, the deposit is forfeited after 90 days (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Falison.legislature.state.al.us\u002Fcode-of-alabama?section=35-9A-201\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">Alabama Code 35-9A-201(b) to (h)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 25%; vertical-align: top;\">Alaska\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 74.8503%; vertical-align: top;\">Within 14 days after the tenancy ends if proper notice is given; 30 days if proper notice is not given (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.akleg.gov\u002Fbasis\u002FBill\u002FText\u002F25?Hsid=SB0056A\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">Alaska Statutes 34.03.070(g)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 25%; vertical-align: top;\">Arizona\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 74.8503%; vertical-align: top;\">Refundable deposits must be refunded within 14 business days after move-out, excluding weekends and holidays (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.azleg.gov\u002Fars\u002F33\u002F01321.htm\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Arizona Revised Statute 33-1321(d)\u003C\u002Fa>). Nonrefundable fees or deposits are allowed if agreed to in writing (Arizona Revised Statute 33-1321(b)).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 25%; vertical-align: top;\">Arkansas\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"width: 74.8503%; vertical-align: top;\">Within 60 days after the tenancy ends;&nbsp;return with itemized charges (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Farkansas\u002F2017\u002Ftitle-18\u002Fsubtitle-2\u002Fchapter-16\u002Fsubchapter-3\u002Fsection-18-16-305\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">A.C.A. &sect; 18-16-305\u003C\u002Fa>). Any returned\u002Funcashed refund belongs to the landlord after 180 days (A.C.A. &sect; 18-16-305(b)(2)). This limitation does not apply if the landlord owns five or less dwellings UNLESS property management, including rent collection, is performed by third persons for a fee (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Farkansas\u002F2017\u002Ftitle-18\u002Fsubtitle-2\u002Fchapter-16\u002Fsubchapter-3\u002Fsection-18-16-303\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">A.C.A. &sect; 18-16-303\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">California\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">21 days&nbsp;after the tenancy ends&nbsp;(Civil Code Section 1950.5(g)(3)); cannot be nonrefundable (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fleginfo.legislature.ca.gov\u002Ffaces\u002Fcodes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&amp;sectionNum=1950.5\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Civil Code Section 1950.5(m)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Colorado\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;by law, but up to 60 days if agreed to in the lease agreement ; 72 hours (not counting weekends or holidays) if a hazardous condition involving gas equipment requires the tenant to vacate (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fcheckerboard.co\u002FCB2\u002F13_LTE\u002FCRS_38-12-103-38-12-104_Security_Deposits_Wrongful_Withholding.pdf\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">Colorado Statutes 38-12-103, 104\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Connecticut\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;or 15 days after the tenant gives a forwarding address, whichever is later (Conn. Gen. Stat. 47a-21). Refund must include any accrued interest.\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Delaware\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">20 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;(25 Delaware Code 5514(e) and (f)). For pet damage, landlords must deduct from the pet deposit first before using the security deposit (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fdelcode.delaware.gov\u002Ftitle25\u002Fc055\u002Findex.shtml\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">25 Delaware Code 5514(i)(1)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">District of Columbia\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Landlord has 45 days after the tenancy ends to either issue a refund&nbsp;&nbsp;(including any accrued interest) or issue a notice of intention to withhold (DC Municipal Regulations Ch 14. S 309.1). After issuing notice of intention to withhold, the landlord has 30 days to refund the security deposit balance along with an itemized statement (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.dcregs.dc.gov\u002FGateway\u002FRuleHome.aspx?RuleNumber=14-309\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">DC Municipal Regulations Ch 14. S 309.2\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Florida\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">15 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;(including any accrued interest) if there is no claim or withholding by the landlord; up to 60 days to deduct and withhold if the landlord gave notice of withholding intent and amount by certified mail to the tenant's last known mailing address. The notice must include statutory language (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.leg.state.fl.us\u002Fstatutes\u002Findex.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&amp;URL=0000-0099\u002F0083\u002FSections\u002F0083.49.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Fla. Stat. Ann S 83.49(3)(a)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Georgia\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends;&nbsp;&nbsp;however, if the tenant cannot be found and there is no forwarding address, the security deposit becomes the landlord's after 90 days (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Fgeorgia\u002F2017\u002Ftitle-44\u002Fchapter-7\u002Farticle-2\u002Fsection-44-7-34\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">O.C.G.A. ง 44-7-34\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Hawaii\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">14 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;(\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.capitol.hawaii.gov\u002Fhrscurrent\u002FVol12_Ch0501-0588\u002FHRS0521\u002FHRS_0521-0044.htm\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">HRS S. 521-44(c)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Idaho\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">21 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;if no time is fixed by written agreement, and, in any event, within 30 days after surrender of the premises by the tenant (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flegislature.idaho.gov\u002Fstatutesrules\u002Fidstat\u002FTitle6\u002FT6CH3\u002FSECT6-321\u002F\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Idaho Code S. 6-321\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 171.417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Not applicable for mobile homes\">Illinois\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">There is no time limit for returning the security deposit for a landlord who only owns a building with four or fewer apartments. Instead, the landlord has a reasonable amount of time to look for hidden damages in the apartment after the tenant moves out.\u003Cbr>\u003Cbr>A landlord with five apartments or more must issue a statement of estimated\u002Factual damages to be withheld from the security deposit within 30 days or must return the security deposit in full within 45 days after the tenant moves out. If a landlord claims that a tenant damaged the apartment, but fails to provide a written statement of the damages, the landlord still must return the security deposit in full within 45 days (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.ilga.gov\u002Flegislation\u002Filcs\u002Filcs3.asp?ActID=2202&amp;ChapterID=62\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">765 ILCS 710\u002F1\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Indiana\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">45 days after termination and delivery of the premises (Indiana Code 32-31-3-12)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Exclude Mobile, Manufactured , and Modular Homes (Iowa Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (IURLTA) Chapter 562B)\">Iowa\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days from termination and receipt of the tenant's forwarding address (Iowa Code 562A.12(3)). The deposit return is forfeited if it remains unclaimed by the tenant for one year (Iowa Code 562A.12(4)).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Exclude Mobile Homes\">Kansas\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Must be refunded within 14 days after the landlord determines that there will be a withholding, but in no event may it be refunded more than 30 days after termination of tenancy and move-out (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.kslegislature.org\u002Fli_2012\u002Fb2011_12\u002Fstatute\u002F058_000_0000_chapter\u002F058_025_0000_article\u002F058_025_0050_section\u002F058_025_0050_k\u002F\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Kan Stat Ann 58-2550(b)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Kentucky\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Return balance within 30 days if the deposit is being applied to unpaid rent (Ky Rev Stat Ann 383.580(6)); refund within 60 days from the date of notification that the tenant does not owe rent and is due a refund. If no response from the tenant after 60 days, the landlord may remove the deposit from its account and retain it free from any claim (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.lrc.ky.gov\u002Fstatutes\u002Fstatute.aspx?id=35733\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Ky Rev Stat Ann 383.580(7)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Louisiana\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within one month after the tenancy ends (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Flouisiana\u002F2006\u002F123\u002F107468.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Louisiana Revised Statutes Annotated 9:3251A\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Maine\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Except for buildings with no more than five units, where one of which is occupied by the landlord (14 MRSA 6037b), the landlord must either a) return the deposit within the time specified by the lease agreement but not to exceed 30 days (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Flegislature.maine.gov\u002Fstatutes\u002F14\u002Ftitle14sec6033.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">14 Maine Rev Stat. Ann 6033(2)(A)\u003C\u002Fa>) or b) return the deposit within 21 days after termination of the tenancy or surrender\u002Facceptance of the property, whichever occurs later (14 Maine Rev Stat Ann 6033(2)(B)).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 112.635px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Maryland\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">45&nbsp;days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;with simple interest accrued at daily US Treasury yield curve rate for one year as of the first business day of each year, or 1.5% a year, whichever is greater, less any damages rightfully withheld (Md Code Ann 8-203(e). See \u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fdhcd.maryland.gov\u002FPages\u002FRSDCalculator\u002FDefault.aspx\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\" rel=\"noopener\">state provided calculator\u003C\u002Fa>. No interest on the deposit is required if the deposit is held for under six months or for any period less than a full month (Md Code Ann 8-203(e)(ii)). No interest on the deposit is required&nbsp;&nbsp;if the deposit is under $50.00 (Md Code Ann 8-203(e)(3)).&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Massachusetts\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;(Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. Ch 186, Section 15B(4)). Return must include any interest accrued. Security Deposit is forfeited by the landlord if \u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fmalegislature.gov\u002FLaws\u002FGeneralLaws\u002FPartII\u002FTitleI\u002FChapter186\u002FSection15B\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\" rel=\"noopener\">Mass Gen. Laws Ann. Ch 186 Section 15B\u003C\u002Fa>&nbsp;is not strictly followed.&nbsp;&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Michigan\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;. Any withholding must be itemized and include the following in 12-point boldface type which shall be at least 4 points larger than the body of the notice: \"You must respond to this notice by mail within 7 days after receipt of same, otherwise you will forfeit the amount claimed for damages.\" (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.legislature.mi.gov\u002F(S(mpqu44f0vnw5tttoyf2xoztl))\u002Fmileg.aspx?page=getobject&amp;objectName=mcl-554-609\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Mich Comp Laws 554.609\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Research not applicable for manufactured home parks\">Minnesota\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Three weeks after the tenant leaves (or within five days if the building is condemned) AND the landlord receives the forwarding address (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.revisor.mn.gov\u002Fstatutes\u002F?id=504b.178\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Minn Statute 504B.178(3)(a)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Mississippi\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">45 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;(\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Fmississippi\u002F2017\u002Ftitle-89\u002Fchapter-8\u002Fsection-89-8-21\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">Mss. Code Ann 89-8-21(3)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Missouri\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;(Mo. Rev. Stat 535.300.3)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Montana\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 10 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;if no damage deduction is taken (MCA 70-25-202(2)) or within 30 days along with an itemized deduction (MCA 70-25-202(1)). No nonrefundable deposits are permitted (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Farchive.legmt.gov\u002Fbills\u002Fmca\u002Ftitle_0700\u002Fchapter_0250\u002Fpart_0020\u002Fsection_0010\u002F0700-0250-0020-0010.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">MCA 70-25-201\u003C\u002Fa>).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Nebraska\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 14 days after termination, demand, and designation of return location (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fnebraskalegislature.gov\u002Flaws\u002Fstatutes.php?statute=76-1416\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Neb. Rev. Stat 76-1416(2)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Nevada\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;(\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.leg.state.nv.us\u002FNRS\u002FNRS-118A.html#NRS118ASec242\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">NRS 118A.242(4)\u003C\u002Fa>)&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">New Hampshire\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Security Deposit Subsection not applicable to LL who 1) leases a sfr and owns no other rental property, or 2) leases rental units in a owner-occupied building of 5 units or fewer. Exemption does not apply to any individual unit in owner-occupied building that is occupied by a person 60 or older in age.\">Within 30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;(\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.gencourt.state.nh.us\u002Frsa\u002Fhtml\u002Flv\u002F540-a\u002F540-a-7.htm\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">RSA 540-A:7\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">New Jersey\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;(NJSA 46:8-21.1); within five business days in cases of fire, flood, condemnation, or evacuation (NJSA 46:8-21.1 (a) and (b)); within 15 business days with interest earned for domestic violence victims terminating due to a domestic violence incident (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.nj.gov\u002Fdca\u002Fcodes\u002Fpublications\u002Fpdf_lti\u002Fsdepsit_law.pdf\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">NJSA 46:8-21.1\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">New Mexico\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;or the resident's departure, whichever is later (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Fnew-mexico\u002F2017\u002Fchapter-47\u002Farticle-8\u002Fsection-47-8-18\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">N.M Stat. Ann 47-8-18(C)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">New York\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.nysenate.gov\u002Flegislation\u002Flaws\u002FGOB\u002F7-108\">New York General Obligations Law &sect; 7-108(1-a)(e)\u003C\u002Fa> specifically requires 14 days after the tenant vacates. The law was updated and now has a specific statutory deadline. &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 112.635px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">North Carolina\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Not applicable for LL renting out a single room (for any duration-- weekly, month , or annually) (NC Gen Stat 42-56)\" for=\"\">Within 30 days after termination of tenancy and delivery of possession to the landlord. If the landlord makes a claim against the deposit that cannot be finalized within 30 days, the landlord may send an interim accounting within 30 days and final accounting within 60 days of the tenancy termination (NC Gen Stat 42-52). If the tenant's address is unknown or undeliverable, the landlord must hold the balance of the deposit for collection by the tenant for at least six months (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.ncleg.net\u002FEnactedLegislation\u002FStatutes\u002FHTML\u002FBySection\u002FChapter_42\u002FGS_42-52.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">NC Gen Stat 42-52\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">North Dakota\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after termination of the lease and delivery of possession (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.legis.nd.gov\u002Fcencode\u002Ft47c16.pdf\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">ND Century Code 47-16-07.3\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Ohio\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days from termination and delivery of possession. The tenant must provide a forwarding address (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fcodes.ohio.gov\u002Forc\u002F5321.16\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Ohio Rev Code Ann 5321.16(B)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Oklahoma\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"type herePrevious refund period appears to be 30 days and that's quoted by many secondary resources. However current statute is 45 days.  &lt;a href=\">Refund within 45 days after termination of tenancy, delivery, or possession and written demand by the tenant \u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"type herePrevious refund period appears to be 30 days and that's quoted by many secondary resources. However current statute is 45 days.  &lt;a href=\">(Amended by Laws 2015, HB 1577, c. 94, &sect; 1, eff. November 1, 2015 )(41 OK Sat 115(B)). The tenant must make demand. If the tenant does not make written demand of the deposit within six months after termination of tenancy, the deposit reverts back to the landlord (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.oklegislature.gov\u002Fosstatuestitle.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">41 OK Stat 115(B)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Oregon\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 31 days after tenancy termination and the tenant delivers possession to the landlord (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Foregon.public.law\u002Fstatutes\u002Fors_90.300\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">ORS 90.300(12)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Pennsylvania\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenancy ends&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;or the surrender and acceptance of the premises, whichever occurs first (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fgovt.westlaw.com\u002Fpac\u002FDocument\u002FN90F2D550343711DA8A989F4EECDB8638?viewType=FullText&amp;originationContext=documenttoc&amp;transitionType=CategoryPageItem&amp;contextData=(sc.Default)&amp;bhcp=1\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">68 PS 250.512\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Rhode Island\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 20 days after the later of either a) termination of tenancy, b) delivery of possession, or c) the tenant providing a forwarding address (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fwww.rilegislature.gov\u002Fcommissions\u002Flateco\u002Fcommdocs\u002F2024-11-01%20--%20Title%2034%20-%20Property%20Chapter%2018.%20Landlord%20Tenant%20Act.pdf\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">R.I. Gen. Laws 34-18-19\u003C\u002Fa>).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">South Carolina\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after termination of tenancy and delivery of possession and demand by the tenant, whichever is later (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.scstatehouse.gov\u002Fcode\u002Ft27c040.php\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">SC Code Ann 27-40-410(a)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">South Dakota\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">\u003Cspan for=\"\">Within two weeks after termination of tenancy and receipt of the tenant's forwarding address or delivery instruction. If the tenant requests it, the landlord must provide a written, itemized account for any security deposit withholding within 45 days of tenancy. (\u003Cspan for=\"\">SD Code Ann 43-32-24\u003Cspan for=\"\">)&nbsp;\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 132.229px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"y statue, the Landlord Tenant Act only applies in counties that have a population greater than 68,000.   These counties are: Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Davidson, Greene, Hamilton, Knox, Madison, Maury, Montgomery, Putnam, Rutherford, Sevier, Shelby, Sullivan, Sumner, Washington, Williamson, or Wilson. For leases outside these counties, for state requirements, courts will apply contract law.\">Tennessee\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">In the event the tenant leaves not owing rent and having any refund due, the landlord shall send notification to the last known or reasonably determinable address, of the amount of any refund due the tenant. In the event the landlord shall not have received a response from the tenant within 60 days from the sending of such notification, the landlord may remove the deposit from the account and retain it free from any claim of the tenant or any person claiming in the tenant's behalf \u003Cspan for=\"\">(\u003Cspan for=\"\">Tenn Code 66-28-301(f)\u003Cspan for=\"\">). It is recommended that landlords use reasonable judgment for all other circumstances not specified by law.&nbsp;\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 93.0417px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Texas\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenant surrenders the premises (Texas Property Code 92.103(a)). Nonrefundable fees are permitted (Holmes v Canlen Management Corp, 542 S.W.2d 199 (1976)). The lease may include a requirement that the tenant give advance notice of surrender as the condition for refunding the security deposit ONLY if the lease term is underlined or bolded in the lease conspicuously (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fstatutes.capitol.texas.gov\u002F?tab=1&amp;code=PR&amp;chapter=PR.92&amp;artSec=\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"follow noopener\">Texas Property Code 92.103(b)\u003C\u002Fa>).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Utah\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after the tenant vacates (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fle.utah.gov\u002Fxcode\u002FTitle57\u002FChapter17\u002F57-17-S3.html\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Utah Code Ann 57-17-3(2)\u003C\u002Fa>). If the landlord fails to return the deposit within 30 days, the tenant should serve notice EXACTLY as provided in Utah Code Ann 57-17-3(3). Any portion of the security deposit that is nonrefundable must be stated in the lease (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fle.utah.gov\u002Fxcode\u002FTitle57\u002FChapter17\u002F57-17-S2.html?v=C57-17-S2_1800010118000101\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Utah Code Ann 57-17-2\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Vermont\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 14 days after move-out or 60 days for seasonal rentals that are not the tenant's primary residence (9 VSA 4461(c)). The security deposit must be refundable (no nonrefundable deposits per \u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Flegislature.vermont.gov\u002Fstatutes\u002Fsection\u002F09\u002F137\u002F04461\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">9 VSA 4461(a)\u003C\u002Fa>)&nbsp;.\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 151.823px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"type hereTechnically, VA Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (Code of Virginia, Title 55, Property and Conveyances Chapter 13.2) excludes occupancy in single-family residences located in Virginia where owners are natural persons (or their estates) who own in their own name no more than 2 single-family residences subject to a rental agreement.  (VA code 55-248.5(A)(10)). This would be an exclusion of typical renters who may use LN\" for=\"\">Virginia\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 45 days after termination of tenancy and delivery of possession (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fvacode.org\u002F2016\u002F55\u002F13.2\u002F2\u002F55-248.15:1\u002F\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">VA Code 55-248.15:1(A)\u003C\u002Fa>). If no forwarding address for the tenant is provided after one year from the end of the 45-day period, the landlord must (within a reasonable period under 90 days) escheat the balance of the security deposit and all amounts due to the tenant to the Commonwealth of Virginia by sending the money to the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development, payable to the State treasurer and credited to \u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.lis.virginia.gov\u002Fvacode\u002F36-142\u002F\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\" rel=\"noopener\">Virginia Housing Trust Fund\u003C\u002Fa>&nbsp;(VA Code 55-248.15:1(A)). A record of any itemized deductions from the security deposit must be kept for two years (VA Code 55-248.15:1(B)(2)).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 53.8542px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">\u003Cspan data-sheets-note=\"Not applicable for mobile home\u002Fparks.\">Washington\u003C\u002Fspan>\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 21 days&nbsp; (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fapp.leg.wa.gov\u002FRCW\u002Fdefault.aspx?Cite=59.18.280\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\" rel=\"noopener\">RCW 59.18.280(1)\u003C\u002Fa>). Any nonrefundable fees must be clearly indicated as nonrefundable in the lease (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fapp.leg.wa.gov\u002Frcw\u002Fdefault.aspx?cite=59.18.285\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">RCW 59.18.285\u003C\u002Fa>).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 132.229px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">West Virginia\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Refundable security deposits must be returned within 60 days from the end of the tenancy or within 45 days of occupancy of a subsequent tenant, whichever is earlier. If the tenant caused damage exceeding the security deposit amount and the landlord hires a contractor to fix it, the notice period is extended by 15 days (W.VA Code 37-6A-1(7)). The landlord must retain records of deductions for one year after the end of the tenancy and make records available to the tenant or the tenant's representative for inspection within 72 hours (W.VA 37-6A-3). Nonrefundable fees must be expressly stated in writing (\u003Ca href=\"http:\u002F\u002Fwww.legis.state.wv.us\u002FWVCode\u002FChapterEntire.cfm?chap=37&amp;art=6A\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">W.VA Code 37-6A-1(14)\u003C\u002Fa>).\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 34.2604px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Wisconsin\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 21 days after termination of the tenancy (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Fdocs.legis.wisconsin.gov\u002Fcode\u002Fadmin_code\u002Fatcp\u002F090\u002F134\u002F06\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Wis. Admin Code ATCP 134.06(2)\u003C\u002Fa>)\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003Ctr style=\"height: 73.4479px;\">\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 25%;\">Wyoming\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003Ctd style=\"vertical-align: top; width: 74.8503%;\">Within 30 days after termination of the tenancy or within 15 days after receipt of the tenant's new mailing address, whichever is later (\u003Ca href=\"https:\u002F\u002Flaw.justia.com\u002Fcodes\u002Fwyoming\u002F2017\u002Ftitle-1\u002Fchapter-21\u002Farticle-12\u002Fsection-1-21-1208\u002F\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\" target=\"_blank\" title=\"\">Wyo. Stat. 1-21-1208a\u003C\u002Fa>). No accrued interest is required with the refund. If there is damage to the premises, the refund period is extended by 30 days (for a total of 60 days maximum).&nbsp;\u003C\u002Ftd>\n\u003C\u002Ftr>\n\u003C\u002Ftbody>\n\u003C\u002Ftable>","guide-legacy-html",{"id":25,"content":8,"legacyHtml":26,"blockName":8,"blockType":19},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a6","\u003Cp>\u003C\u002Fp>\n\u003Cp>\u003C\u002Fp>",[28],{"id":29,"name":30,"slug":31},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a7","Landlord and Tenant","landlord-and-tenant",[33,37,41,45,49,53],{"id":34,"name":35,"slug":36},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a8","Lease with Option to Purchase","lease-with-option-to-purchase",{"id":38,"name":39,"slug":40},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0a9","Month-to-Month Residential Rental Agreement","month-to-month-residential-rental-agreement",{"id":42,"name":43,"slug":44},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0aa","Rent-to-Own Lease Agreement","rent-to-own-lease-agreement",{"id":46,"name":47,"slug":48},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0ab","residential lease agreement","residential-lease-agreement",{"id":50,"name":51,"slug":52},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0ac","Residential Rental Agreement","residential-rental-agreement",{"id":54,"name":55,"slug":56},"6a0c420d6ab1b500603df0ad","US Article","us-article",{"name":8,"slug":8,"productVersionSlug":8},{"title":59,"description":60,"keyword":8,"ogImage":8},"How Long Does The Landlord Have To Return A Security Deposit? | LegalNature","Most states require landlords to refund security deposits they collect within a certain time frame after the tenancy ends. Landlords may sub","2026-09-18T10:02:33.928Z","2026-05-19T10:57:17.774Z","published"]